The Virginia Chapter of Phi Beta Lambda is organized following general principles set forth in the National Handbook. The State Chairman is recommended by the Chief Executive Officer of FBLA-PBL, Inc., and is approved by the National Board of Directors. The State Director is appointed by the State Chairman; the FBLA-PBL Specialist is hired through a project with the Virginia Department of Education.

The duties of the State Chairman are enumerated in the National Handbook under "State Structure." The State Director has the responsibility of coordinating the activities of Virginia Phi Beta Lambda with assistance from the FBLA-PBL Specialist.

PBL Structure


Local PBL chapters consist of students interested in business careers. Each chapter has officers, committees, and one or more advisers. Chapters are identified by a chapter number and Greek letters assigned by the National Office when the charter for the chapter is issued. The first Virginia Phi Beta Lambda chapter was chartered at Saint Paul's College in 1945 with Miss Alesandria A. Patterson as the faculty adviser. A list of Virginia PBL's chartered chapters follows:

Averett College, 1964
Braxton School, 1985
Bridgewater College, 1981
Central Virginia Community College, 1969
Clinch Valley College, 1975
Commonwealth College--Virginia Beach Campus, 1987
Commonwealth College--Richmond Campus, 1992
Commonwealth College--Hampton Campus, 1988
Christiansburg Industrial Institute, 1952
Danville Community College, 1969
Dominion Business School--Harrisonburg, 1990
Dominion Business School--Roanoke, 1988
Eastern Shore Community College, 1989
Electronic Computer Programming Institute--Virginia Beach, 1988
Elizabeth Brant School of Business, 1981
Ferrum College, 1967
George Mason University, 1989
Germanna Community College, 1987
Hampton University, 1961
J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College--Parham Road Campus, 1975
James Madison University, 1953
John Tyler Community College, 1969
Kee Business College--Newport News, 1983
Kee Business College--Norfolk, 1978
Longwood College, 1955
Lord Fairfax Community College, 1971
Mary Baldwin College, 1980
Marymount University, 1988
Mountain Empire Community College, 1973
New River Community College, 1972
Norfolk State University, 1956
Northern Virginia Community College--Annandale Campus, 1970
Northern Virginia Community College--Manassas Campus, 1990
Northern Virginia Community College--Woodbridge Campus, 1980
Old Dominion University, 1964
Patrick Henry Community College, 1973
Paul D. Camp Community College, 1975
Radford University, 1953
Rappahannock Community College--Warsaw Campus, 1981
Rappahannock Community College--Glenns Campus, 1972
Richard Bland College, 1964
Rutledge College, 1980
Saint Leo College--Tidewater Center, 1992
Saint Paul's College, 1945
Shenandoah College, 1963
Southside Virginia Community College--Christanna Campus, 1978
Southwest Virginia Community College, 1975
Thomas Nelson Community College, 1973
Tidewater Community College--Portsmouth Campus, 1980
Tidewater Community College--Virginia Beach Campus, 1971
University of Virginia, 1987
Virginia Commonwealth University, 1953
Virginia Highlands Community College, 1973
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, 1954
Virginia State University, 1953
Virginia Union University, 1953
Wytheville Community College, 1970